New Classification of Seizures by the International League Against Epilepsy 2017.

Curr Neurol Neurosci Rep. 2017 Jun;17(6):48. doi: 10.1007/s11910-017-0758-6.

The New Classification of Seizures by the International League Against Epilepsy 2017.



This review presents the newly developed International League Against Epilepsy (ILAE) 2017 classification of seizure types.


The fundamental distinction is between seizures that begin focally in one hemisphere of the brain, generalized onset seizures that apparently originate in both hemispheres, and seizures of unknown onset. Focal seizures optionally can be subclassified according to whether awareness (a surrogate marker for consciousness) is intact or impaired. The next level of classification for focal seizures is motor (with subgroups automatisms, atonic, clonic, epileptic spasms, hyperkinetic, myoclonic, tonic), non-motor (with subgroups autonomic, behavior arrest, cognitive, emotional, sensory), and focal to bilateral tonic-clonic. Generalized seizures are categorized as motor (tonic-clonic, clonic, tonic, myoclonic, myoclonic-tonic-clonic, myoclonic-atonic, atonic, epileptic spasms) and non-motor/absence (typical, atypical, myoclonic, eyelid myoclonia). The classification allows new types of focal seizures and a few new generalized seizures, and clarifies terms used to name seizures.


Classification; Epilepsy; Focal seizure; Generalized seizure; Seizure; Taxonomy


Categories: Functional, Neurology

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: